Only two women NC candidates elected

Of the seven female candidates who contested in the NC elections 2018, one was knocked out in the primary round

Mongar and Punakha are the only Dzongkhags that will be represented by female Members of Parliament in the National Council during its third term.

Seven women contested in the elections, however, one failed to get nominated in the zomdu process.

From Drangmaling under Tsamang gewog in Mongar, Sonam Pelzom, 31, secured a total of 2,406 votes. Of the total votes, she secured 1,012 postal ballot votes and 1,394 Electronic Machine Votes (EMV).

Sonam Pelzom holds a Bachelor’s degree in Dzongkha and Geography from Sherubtse College and has served as a voluntary English instructor at the National Institute for Zhorig Chusum. She also served as a teacher in Druk School and foreign English teacher in Thailand.

Another woman elect is Lhaki Dolma, 39, from Jimethang village under Dzomi gewog in Punakha. She secured a total vote of 2,333. She got a total postal ballot of 706 votes and 1,627 EMV votes.

The mother of two holds a Bachelor’s degree from College of Language and Culture Studies. She stood second in the Royal Civil Service Examination in 2003. She also has a post-graduate degree in development management from the Royal Institute of Management. She started her career as a human resource officer for three years with the Ministry of Agriculture and Forests. She then joined the film industry, as an actress and film director.

Tshelthrim Dukar from Samdrup Jongkhar secured only 2,674 votes against incumbent candidate Jigme Wangchuk (4,101), whereas Tshewang Lhamo, the first NC candidate representing Chhukha, lost with 2,458 votes.  Tshewang Lhamo contested in the first NC election in 2008 where she was elected; consequently, she participated in the second NC election where she lost to the incumbent, Pema Tenzin. This is her third try for the NC.

Despite securing the highest postal ballot with 519 votes, Kencho Wangmo lost to Dhan Kumar Sunwar from Tsirang who secured 2,825 votes.  Similarly, Dechen Zangmo from Punakha also lost after securing 995 votes.

In 2008, of the six women who contested, only four were elected, whereas in 2013, of the four female candidates, none were elected except for two eminent members.

Lucky Wangmo from Thimphu