DNT, DPT through to general round of elections 

The presidents, candidates and party workers and supporters of Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) and Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) are elated and euphoric that the two parties have sailed through the primary round of the third parliamentary elections held on Saturday.

Talking to Business Bhutan, DNT president Lotey Tshering said he is very happy not that DNT won, but because they have educated the electorates to decide based on their likings and their manifestos, and the people have given chance to a party which has never been in the parliament before.

“We are very happy that the electorates identify with DNT’s narrowing the gap and emphasis on their health care,” he added.

Lotey Tshering said the party will now prepare for the general round of elections and that they would respect whatever people decide. If given the mandate, he added, they are excited to shoulder the responsibilities and work under the visionary leadership.

“We are happy because our votes are also equally average in all the 47 constituencies,” Lotey Tshering said.

In the primary round of elections held on Saturday, DNT secured the highest number of votes, followed by DPT. These two parties will now go on to contest in the general round of elections to see which forms the government and the opposition.

According to the results of the primary round of National Assembly elections 2018 that was officially declared by the Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB) yesterday, DNT secured a total of 92,722 votes (31.85%), DPT secured 90,020 votes (30.92%), People’s Democratic Party (PDP) 79,883 votes (27.44%), and Bhutan Kuen-Nyam Party (BKP) 28,473 votes (9.78%).

Meanwhile, DNT secured the highest votes from postal ballot with 37,556 votes, while PDP secured the highest votes from Electronic Voting Machines with 56,180 votes. And in terms of win by constituencies, DPT won from 22 constituencies, followed DNT in 16 constituencies, and PDP in nine constituencies.

Further, DPT had landslide victory from constituencies in eastern districts of the country, while the votes secured from southern and western constituencies were divided between DNT and PDP.

Similarly, the highest vote DPT secured was from Dramedtse-Ngatshang constituency in Monggar with 4,694 votes, DNT from Gelephug constituency in Dagana with 3,488 votes, and PDP from Bongo-Chapcha constituency in Chhukha with 4,413 votes.

And the 22 constituencies that DPT won include all the three constituencies from Monggar, all three constituencies from Pemagatshel, two constituencies from Bumthang, five constituencies from Trashigang, two each from Samdrup Jongkhar and Trashiyangtse, and two constituencies from Zhemgang. DPT also won from Lamgong-Wangshag constituency in Paro, Menbi-Tsenkhar constituency in Lhuentse, and Dophuchen-Tading constituency in Samtse.

Talking to Business Bhutan, DPT president Pema Gyamtsho said they were pleasantly surprised with the overwhelming support they received from all cross sections of the society.

“We are happy that we got overwhelming support from the people and got chance to go through to the general round of elections,” he added.

“We feel deeply privileged to get the opportunity to go into the general round. We are determined to prove DPT’s loyalty to the Throne and commitment to serve the nation and people with utmost dedication,” the president reportedly said, adding that they went into this election without any expectation and were prepared for any outcome.

Win or lose, according to Pema Gyamtsho, they felt participation was important.  He added that the party will now prepare for the general round of elections.

Meanwhile, the constituencies that DNT won include Drukjegang-Tseza constituency in Dagana, Gelephu constituency, Phuentsholing constituency, Dokar-Sharpa constituency in Paro, Gangzur-Minjey constituency in Lhuentse, South Thimphu constituency, Khatoed-Laya constituency in Gasa, Lingmukha-Teodwang constituency in Punakha, Nubi-Tangsibji constituency in Trongsa, Nyisho-Sephu constituency in Wangdue, and constituencies of Tashichhoeling and Ugyentse-Yoeseltse in Samtse.

The constituencies that PDP won include the two constituencies of Haa, Phuntsopelri constituency in Samtse, Bongo-Chapcha constituency in Chhukha, Athang-Thedtsho constituency in Wangdue, North Thimphu constituency, Drakteng-Langthel constituency in Trongsa, Khanead-Lunana constituency in Gasa, and Kabisia-Talog constituency in Punakha.

Meanwhile, BKP did not win from any constituency and secured the lowest votes both from EVM and PB.

The poll day for the general elections is scheduled on October 18.

Dechen Dolkar from Thimphu